Archinect
anchor

We need new study material for the ARE

Anob

Hi y'all,

I'm a little pissed right now. Just took my PPP exam and the exam had about 10 questions out of 85 relating to what I studied. I still think I did fairly well but that's because of my former experience in a construction firm focusing of healthcare and laboratory construction. SMFH

My study material includes:  Ballast Review Manual and test booklets, Kaplan, AIA contracts, Phrogz PPP notes, NCARB question example, I actually read Defensible Space by Oscar Newman and more crap!!!

Has anyone else experienced this? Or is this just me? Taking site planning next. Can some tell me where should spend most of my valuable time.

Thanks

Mar 1, 16 12:50 pm
shellarchitect

PPP  is super broad, so its hard to study for. I found caroline's notes to be pretty good, and I spent a lot of time on ada and read through the code, if you have time the first 11 chapters, but at least read the sections on building areas and exiting

Mar 1, 16 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
JeromeS

I only had Ballast - didn't even hardly read it.

Mar 1, 16 1:37 pm  · 
 · 
Anob

JeromeS,

Did you past are the sections ? How much years experience did you have prior to the exams?

Mar 1, 16 2:36 pm  · 
 · 
JeromeS

I passed the section. I had many years of experience.

I admit, not a fair comparison

Mar 1, 16 8:10 pm  · 
 · 
Quentin

Yea I found the study material for CDS and PPP to only cover maybe about 50% of the exam questions. Its really about critical thinking. Some of the questions, even if I could use Google, that still wouldn't help, lol. Passed both though!  (CDS on 2nd try)

Mar 2, 16 10:27 am  · 
 · 

I studied with Kaplan, Ballast, and AIA docs for PPP and did fine. Sure there were some questions that seemed like they came out of nowhere, but no more so than on other exams I've taken. 

Mar 2, 16 5:32 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

The PPP vignette is much worse than the multiple choice, IMO.

Mar 2, 16 5:36 pm  · 
 ·