Archinect
anchor

Why do you stay?

BackAgain

I've always wondered why so many people stay in this profession. These forums are filled with posters who love to gripe and complain bitterly about the field and yet do not leave for greener pastures.

If the hours, pay, promotions, office politics, sexism, work product, and economic instability are so bad, why is there such an energetic turnout at the AIA convention?

Trust me, I am as cynical a person as you will ever meet, and I know how frustrating worklife can be. Right now I'm an accountant and the days are deadly dull.

So, just for a change, can I hear what keeps you going? Hopefully something besides salary/rent/bills, etc. Maybe I'm tired of being a cynic, but I'd like to know that other people somehow enjoy this field that (after being away from for 10 years) I still feel passionately about.

Thanks.

May 20, 15 4:52 pm
JonathanLivingston

I love my job, care deeply that things are done correctly and to the best possible result. This literally makes everyday hell. There are just some many factors working against that goal. 

I doubt I could find the same passion for something else.  It seems like just plugging away and not caring would be more soul sucking. I imagine many of the bitter complainers are a result of similar attitudes. Its almost a requisite for the job, and actually probably makes most architects better. 

So bitch on and generally continue giving a shit. It's what makes good architecture. 

May 20, 15 5:14 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

"why is there such an energetic turnout at the AIA convention?" 

Because its a "you scratch my back, I scratch yours" - they are all trying to get work from each other.

May 20, 15 5:23 pm  · 
 · 
JeromeS

People stay in this profession because it is the #1 Sexiest...

May 20, 15 5:43 pm  · 
 · 
kickrocks