Archinect
anchor

Style/Theory Critics

UrbanDesign

Hey all, I am a Arch student and I'm having a real problem with theory and architectual stye. I don't understand how people critique other archi's theory today. For instance, I always here people saying they don't like Gehry's work because it's all the same. But Mies's work all looks the same, and nobody says that about him. I thought that was the point, you make a niche for yourself and you try and build on it. Then there is Rem Koolhaus , who people critisize for not following a set theory and creating all these completely different buildings. SO he does the opposite and gets hit for it. I don't get it!!! Can someone PLEASE clear this up for me, or at least give me a take on the issue!?

Dec 4, 04 8:00 pm
jlxarchitect

The way to judge a building is to look at the idea supporting this building. So no matter who they are, if you think the design idea is very clear and construtable, then that design is good.

Gery is indeed producing same building these days. But the reason behind this I think is he have created a successful buidling design model. He can use his idea over and over again for some specific building types. His company IS making money. And why his design model is successful? Because if you check his design carefully, you will find he always create some Mies components in some area of his building as the foundation of the building, he then create some curved roof/wall in the rest area for the focus. This strategy as a result creates a eye-catching building and also mingled with the site.

Rem did the same thing but with less obvious trace.

Hope my comments can be of some help to you. BTW, who is your studio professer? SHE/HE will and need to erase your doubts. If he/she isnot, how about changing to another one?

Dec 5, 04 12:59 am  · 
 · 
caste