Archinect
anchor

Architecture portfolio - professional

Morning fellow architects,

I'm an architectural designer in NYC with a little over three years post-undergrad professional experience under my belt, and I'm gearing up to update my portfolio which I haven't touched since graduation. I'm hoping some of you could share some insight into what you think best represents a professional architecture portfolio as opposed to an academic portfolio. I'm planning to put in a mix of finished photographs, renderings (if projects are in-progress), presentation-style drawings, and construction drawings. Do many of you include considerable amounts of technical drawings? Or do you focus more on photographs of the finished product? I want to emphasize that I'm capable of technical drawing and detailing, but I don't want it to dominate the portfolio and limit how much focus is put on overall design quality. Any insight/opinion would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Oct 6, 14 11:17 am
CrazyHouseCat

At this point of your career, a strong candidate's portfolio should demonstrated that he/she can carry out a complete train of thought from concept to detail.  

The first few years out of school are usually spend on isolated tasks and stages, you may do a lot of concept design, renderings, pick up redlines on details, etc.  But as you moved into the 3-5 year stage, you should really begin to be able to connect the dots and be able to design and put a building together.  

The portfolio should cover the basics to show that you can do concept design, renderings, etc. etc.  But it will be even better if you can illustrate the "story" and evolution process of starting at a conceptual level, through presentation drawings, through figuring out assemblies and detailing of an important moment of the design.