Archinect
anchor

How to go about getting a Summer Internship

AliTroy

I am just a 2nd year Arc student but I'd really like to get a summer internship in an Architecture firm. I'd go just about anywhere to get some experience and to learn more. I've started sending out random e mail to firms in NYC and Istanbul but not sure if that's the right approach. Any advise on where to start?

Mar 23, 11 5:31 pm
Paradox

NYC and Istanbul?? Are those like....6000 miles apart?

Mar 23, 11 5:39 pm  · 
 · 
AliTroy

who cares. I can go anywhere if it's a good opportunity. I have some relatives in Istanbul and New York so that would make living accommodation easy, but I will go anywhere if it's a good oooprtunity for me to learn something. I love Istanbul - and the architecture there - and that would be my top choice, but it's tough because I don't speak fluent Turkish. Suggestions?

Mar 23, 11 8:50 pm  · 
 · 
backbay

cold calls. nobody answers emails. it works with human resource departments sometimes, but especially with smaller firms where the principle is forced to talk to you and can't just pass over your email. thats how i got mine... sent a bunch of emails and physical resumes and barely anyone responded (to tell me no). 2nd cold call and I got an interview.

Mar 23, 11 9:18 pm  · 
 · 
Paradox