Archinect
anchor

Architecture internship, too late?

Yvonne

First off, I'm a 4th year architecture student in a 5 year program at Iowa State University.

I started applying for summer internships in January of this year, mostly in Florida (where I'm from originally). One firm wanted me to basically work for free (which I would have if the transportation costs weren't so unreasonable), another wasn't hiring, and the other four never responded.

I decided to work on my portfolio, which I finished by Career Days at my school. The thing was 30+ pages and received a lot of feedback - mainly, make it smaller. That was in mid-February. I sent out resumes and my new portfolio again at the beginning of March (my portfolio is here, and it is still too big: http://studiovon.arcats.net/MYvonneHidle_Portfolio.pdf)

I got a lot of complements between January and now but no job offers. One of my colleagues has an interview for a summer job and the other has a summer job alredy. The funny thing is, the job offer she got was from a firm that told me they wouldn't be deciding in 3-4 weeks. Are they just giving me the loop around? Is that just a polite way of saying "no we don't want you"?

Is it worth even trying to apply to anymore firms? I contacted 13 firms so far and only five have responded. I'm just wondering if this is always how it is, or am I just not good enough? I'm proficient in Revit, Cinema, all Adobe software... Familiar with 3DS and Rhino. This whole experience is just depressing, I feel pretty worthless, and it's making me wonder if I'm even cut out to do architecture (if no one wants to hire me now, why hire me later). I don't hold unrealistic expectations of the profession - I'm fine with a drafting positions, I'm fine with any position, I'll work for 20k.

I guess this is a mouthful. But in essence...

...is it too late to get a summer internship now?

Mar 8, 11 8:25 pm
l3wis