Archinect
anchor

B.Arch from another country

victormac

Hi, I have bachelor of architecture from India and live in NJ, USA since 2 and half years. I have good experience in autocad and I work for trade shows of booth pavillions. I wanted to know if it will be difficult to get an architectural job (want to join gansler firm), as I have no knowledge about building codes and not licensed in USA. I need suggestions to improve myself in architecture field.

Mar 7, 11 1:44 pm
burningman

Victormac, you are not going to want to hear this but the reality, as you might already know is not very good for architects, let alone for a foreigner with broken english. Please don't take this as an insult but you will be competing against many people much more qualified then you for very limited positions...

My suggestion is that if you are young enough to pursue another passion that you can make a comfortable living doing. Unless a firm is specifically doing work in India and need a native speaker to represent them, it's highly unlikely that there will be an opportunity for you in this field anytime in the foreseeable future.

Mar 7, 11 11:13 pm  · 
 · 
elinor

'more qualified then you' ??

burningman, now i'm offended. you clearly have issues with foreigners. check your own english before you criticize others.

victor, lots of foreigners get jobs without knowledge of codes or licenses. yes, it's hard, but not impossible. keep at it.

Mar 7, 11 11:18 pm  · 
 · 
creativity expert

victormac,