Archinect
anchor

architectural job and softwares

victormac

Hi, I hold a bachelors degree in architecture from India. I have been living in usa, NJ for 3 years and working for a display firm which exhibits trade shows. I also operate CNC machine sometimes in the warehouse that we have. I have worked here for like 2 and half years as a autoCAD drafter making technical and construction drawings in 3-dimensions of booth pavillions. But now I feel like getting architectural experience in a good architectural firm, may be in newyork. I have never worked for an architect in usa. So I am curious whether I should apply at an architectural firm and leave my present job. I am basically specialized in autocad. I know a bit of 3ds max too and photoshop. I also wanted to know what level of expertise in architectural softwares is required in order to get an architectural job. And which softwares should I focus on? and what should be my salary considering the present economic condition? I am really confused about this situation. Please respond with any kind of help possible.
thank you.

Mar 4, 11 1:49 pm
Rusty!

Thank you for applying, but we have no openings that fit your skills right now. Please check back again in 7-12 years.

Mar 5, 11 5:23 pm  · 
 · 
med.

Of course you should apply and now is a good time. You should apply to like 10 firms a day. Make sure to include all of these skills and abilities in your cover letter.

Mar 5, 11 7:21 pm  · 
 · 
victormac

thank you med. for the reply. This will help. I think I should also practice enough for 3ds max and photoshop too before I join any architectural firm and update my portfolio. I have only school projects in my portfolio.

Mar 6, 11 12:50 am  · 
 · 
med.

It really depends on what kind of role you want to play in a firm. Remember not many people within firms know programs like photoshop and 3ds max so it certainly isn't a deal breaker.