Archinect
anchor

Transitioning into residential architecture

Jefferson

I currently work at a firm that specializes in institutional work and have worked at 3 other firms in the past in the commercial realm. I have had no experience in residential, but find that I'd like to move into that typology eventually. Given the economic conditions, it would be stupid to leave my firm anytime soon b/c we are in decent shape for now, but I know I will not be happy in the long run doing the work we do. I'm sure other people have gone through the same thing and have made a successful transition into residential - could you offer advice on how to prepare oneself for this? How can I gain experience in house design when most clients are looking for someone with experience to point to?

Feb 1, 11 6:28 pm
THEaquino

it's interesting that I'm trying to do the opposite.

Feb 1, 11 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
beekay31

As am I... with almost zero luck.