Archinect
anchor

Salary Standards for Architecture/Int Design

morphologist

Hi, I am a junior architectural designer with a Bachelor in Architecture and a Master in Interior Architecture. I have had a few internships in the past as well as held a full-time job before I was laid off. Overall, my experience would amount to approxmiately 1.5 years. I am currently interning at an Interior Design/Architecture firm and was offered a full-time position. The salary offer was very low compared to what I think is industry standard (45k-50k).

I guess my question is, what should I be earning considering that I have 2 degrees and some good experience already?

Jan 24, 11 12:12 am
mdler

whatever someone will give you

Jan 24, 11 12:26 am  · 
 · 
3tk

I'd say that's about par for the course or a tad better - assume 10~20% overall cut from what used to be the norm.

There is a large range in pay, as mdler says, you get what they can pay you.

Jan 24, 11 10:04 am  · 
 · 
+i

-location location location. where are you located???
-2 professional degrees does not equal better pay. contrary to the grad school recruiters... two professional degrees in the same industry really does nothing more for your salary or the profitablility of the firm. you can't do 100% of both at the same time- so you're at the same billable hours as someone w/one degree. unless you have an MBA AND a b.arch, etc... you won't garner more salary.
-what are the professional perks? are they paying OT, are they paying insurance? etc. these are increasingly very expensive to firms. if they're not paying either of these things, or 401k, etc... then i would calculate the cost of healthcare at least and add that in to ask for a higher wage. ultimately you'll end up in the hole if your firm does not pay a portion of your health insurance.

Jan 24, 11 10:17 am  · 
 · 
mgk2928

+i, can you elaborate some more in regards to MBA and b.arch?