Archinect
anchor

working in overseas

kikimonkey

I graduated with a BS in arch last year. Since then, I've been doing different things. I am working as a CAD designer, which sucks because what is do is nothing to do with architecture..

I've been searching very hard, working on my portfolio and improving my rendering skills.

I know that there is a limitation on getting IDP credits if I work in overseas. However, if i can work for a big firm, isn't it better than working at a small firm as a cad monkey in the u.s.?

I am thinking that it would also count as a better experience for my future job?

I don't know how much credit they give for overseas experience here..

I want to hear your thoughts on this...

Dec 28, 10 1:20 pm
snook_dude

once a cad monkey always a cad monkey....in overseas.

Dec 28, 10 5:14 pm  · 
 · 
Seiji331

you can get IDP credits overseas, but there is a certain limit i cant remember the hours off the top of my head.

Dec 28, 10 5:17 pm  · 
 · 
Seiji331

Work Setting C
Maximum Training Hours Allowed: 1,880

You are working at an organization/firm located outside the United States or Canada under the direct supervision of an architect credentialed to practice architecture by a country other than the United States or Canada.

Example: Working at an architecture firm in Japan with a supervisor who is a licensed architect in Japan.

that post above was useless haha.

Dec 28, 10 5:19 pm  · 
 · 
kikimonkey

oh, i was actually asking if it is worthy to go overseas to work instead of searching so hard to get a crappy job here in this economy...

and how much of my experience overseas will be counted when I come back and work here later..

Dec 28, 10 6:33 pm  · 
 · 
zen maker