Archinect
anchor

ARE + funkaar test prep

urbanaa

has anyone been sucessful with this test prep strategy? i want to start the NYC program in April, and finish by July...taking (and hopefully passing) all exams.

here is the concern: i work full time and have 2 small kids. if i am going to take weekend time for this--IT HAS TO HELP.

fwiw--i've been struding on an off for some of the sections for 2 years, but have not buckled down yet. all feedback appreciated. tia.

Dec 22, 10 7:53 pm
elinor

this process is different for everyone, but i would not recommend taking time and resources away from yourself/your family for test prep.

try to assess what kind of study skills have worked best for you in the past. if you are the type who 'tests well' and has a good record of efficient solo study, then spend an hour or so each day (over lunch or in the evenings or on the train) with a borrowed test prep book and save the weekends (and the money) for the kids. schedule a test every 1-2 mos...you can definitely pass the tests this way.

i do know some people who have really struggled to pass, though, and multiple retakes end up being more expensive/time consuming in the end. so if you suspect this may be you, then buckle down and do it.

Dec 23, 10 11:35 am  · 
 · 
elinor

oh, i see that you want to get this done in less than 7 or so mos...toward the end i was taking a test every 2 weeks, with no test prep other than books, and that worked pretty well for me...

Dec 23, 10 11:39 am  · 
 · 
urbanaa

thanks for your response.

i used to be a good test taker, and am farily confident that i could pass on my own, with focused study...over 3 years. i hope to avoid the take-and-retake theme, both because of time and expense. i also love the idea of having the tests done by my <35th-yikes> birthday in july :)

maybe i will shoot for one test before the class starts and see how it goes. thanks again :)

Dec 23, 10 4:00 pm  · 
 · 
gonad