Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Critique

SLD

Hi Everybody, I'm going cross-eyed and thought I'd stop and get some feedback on my portfolio draft:

http://issuu.com/durrett/docs/portfolio_draft_saturday2/64

I'm a mid-career landscape architect and putting together a new book for job applications. While I want to appeal to a range of firm types and styles, think I could stand to trim out a few projects and I'm too biased to hack away. There are other inconsistencies and pages I'm not enamored with and need some help. I'd love to have your suggestions, trimming related or otherwise!

I know all of you youngsters will say, "What? no 3-D modeling?!", and the veterans "What?! no perspective sketches?!", I'm frantically working on them both and expect to be finished over the holidays, then life will be complete :) (But in the meantime, I still need something reasonable to send out.)

Also, has anyone had success (or not) printing with Blurb?

(The text is all placeholder/inaccurate at the moment so don't worry about reading it FYI)

I appreciate everyone's help! Thanks!
Susan

Dec 4, 10 10:29 pm
Distant Unicorn

Yes, yes... yes! The front cover is excellent.

I like the text layout on the sides. I don't think you'll really need that much text.

However, if you want a kind of magazine book like approach...

I'd copy over that red text from your name on front, use a narrower variation and use it from subtitles describing individual projects on those big block text pages.

I'm not sure if this translates over... but on your project management page, do something like this:

Project Management (title big serif text)
Introduction paragraph
[return]
Subtitle (red font, 14 pts, small caps)
details (slightly smaller red font, 12 pts, standard)
subparagraph
[return]
subparagraph
[return]
subparagraph

Dec 4, 10 10:36 pm  · 
 · 
Distant Unicorn

Also, don't use jpegs (unless you really have to) for your fancy pants project overview pictures.