Archinect
anchor

How does one learn about low budget residential architecture - AKA, my sister asked me to design a guest house.

loac

Over thanksgiving, my sister mentioned that they are moving to a smallish city outside Tucson, AZ. They are moving into an existing house, and would like to build a guesthouse. When she asked me to do some plans, my response was essentially 'I haven't done anything like that before, but I am sure I could do a good job'.

I graduated 2 years ago and have been working in a large office doing institutional work. So I don't have much residential experience. Is there a good book you can recommend that would guide me through the process of code review and getting the drawings approved through the city?

Thanks for your advice.

Nov 28, 10 10:07 am

You are correct that 2 years out of school and with no residential experience under your belt you have no idea what you are doing. So use the opportunity to educate yourself.

Start doing some google searches and magazine searches for guest houses (Sunset Magazine is a western living mag that often focuses on simple out-buildings in the West, some very nice examples). Go to a homes plan website - where anyone can buy a set of plans for a few hundred bucks - and browse the plans for layout ideas.

And if your sister has already selected a builder, start with him/her - that person will have oodles of experience getting through this process and can easily become your ally in getting the project done efficiently IF you treat their experience with respect.

Good luck!

Nov 28, 10 2:15 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

Look around the neighborhood for some precedents.

Nov 28, 10 9:18 pm  · 
 · 
beekay31

Process? Residential architects don't need no stinking process!