Archinect
anchor

Sorry to those who are unemployed, but this rant is for those stuck in a firm they hate....

Jefferson

I know I should be thankful for having a job, but I could not be more frustrated than I have been the last year. I've watched my firm crumble to half it's size, and have gone from working on a huge project to a tiny renovation. I've gone from having a good salary and stability to living precariously and making under what I made as an intern out of school.
To make matters worse, all the people under me have been let go, so I'm back to being at the bottom of the pile...I'm a project architect but now have been treated and relegated to CAD monkey the past year. I work with people who treat me like this and it boils my blood, literally. I know I'm not alone with this - what strategies are you all employing to deal with this shit?

Nov 17, 10 3:41 pm
Ms Beary

I have found that an underappreciated aspect of success is patience. The best is yet to come, hang in there.

Nov 17, 10 4:10 pm  · 
 · 
Jefferson

I agree...however I've lost my zen. How does one keep their patience in these times?

Nov 17, 10 4:35 pm  · 
 · 
Ms Beary

By reminding oneself that patience is a virtue and that the best is yet to come.

Nov 17, 10 4:59 pm  · 
 · 
comb
"I know I should be thankful for having a job..."

Yes ... I expect you should be thankful. I know any number of people who would trade places with you in a heartbeat. If you can't thank your lucky stars, extricate yourself from the situation by resigning and see how happy you are then when you can't find a new position.

"I've gone from having a good salary and stability to living precariously .... to make matters worse, all the people under me have been let go, so I'm back to being at the bottom of the pile...I'm a project architect but now have been .... relegated to CAD monkey the past year."

I know any number of Firm Principals who can make these same statements.

Nov 17, 10 5:06 pm  · 
 · 
tman