Archinect
anchor

Help! Leaving Architecture for a while for $, will it be OK to return?

nerdybynature

Just graduated school. I've worked at a few design firms and some well known architecture/professors. However, I havent ever worked a salary job.

the job market is real bad in the city im in, and chances are its just as bad as anywhere else.. (im in socal).

Ive been offered a job as a Branding/Graphic Designer for a upcoming website dealing with oversees trade.. all in all it seems legit, and there is possibility of quick promotion since the company is still small.

i was wondering if i decide to work for these guys to wait out the recession, will that be alright? 1-2 years minimum?

also, there is a possibility of me being paid way more than a entry level architect.. i was wondering if it would be hard to return to architecture (get hired, even as entry level) 5-10 years down the road?

i have a masters and am currently 25..
i intend to keep reading about architecture and/or take classes here n there and do side projects hopefully on the side .. as it is something im regularly itnerested in anyway

an idea situation is being able to branch my own architecture practice based on the work given to me by this web company. i am directly working with CEO as we are first friends than partners..

Nov 12, 10 5:02 pm
mdler

you arent going to start your own architectural practice having not had any real professional experience

Nov 12, 10 5:10 pm  · 
 · 
nerdybynature

oh sorry, i didnt mean architecture practice.. i just meant design practice..!

i would only be starting my own practice if i can commit to completing IDP/ARE for licensing..

Nov 12, 10 5:17 pm  · 
 · 
syp

You couldn't come back to "design practice" not because you had left architecture for a while but because you are not rich enough to suppoert yourself which is the reason that you are planning to leave "Design" profession now.