Archinect
anchor

How much work can I do by my self with out an Architectural Licence

Hence

Hi,

I am an Intern Architect / Graduate Architect, or what ever the correct title is for someone who is not a summer intern and not yet licensed.   I have received a couple of offers from people I know to produce drawings for projects they want to build; small addition projects.  And I know I can get in a lot of trouble for practicing with out a license and jeopardize ever getting my license, but I could really use the money from the jobs right now.  So can anyone help me figure out what I can do to produce drawings for these friends with out providing "architectural services" that would require a license?

Thank you.

- Mark 

Jun 17, 11 8:23 am
el jeffe

talk to the building department(s) that would issue the permit(s) for the project(s).

anything else is speculation.

Jun 17, 11 9:04 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

what you are able to do or not do depends on your location. 

Jun 17, 11 9:08 am  · 
 · 
Hence

Thanks for the advice.

Jun 17, 11 9:08 am  · 
 · 
trace™

and anything that you need a stamp for you can easily find someone to stamp it for a few bucks (I wouldn't turn down any project because of no license, just follow the advice of those above and know the line).

Jun 17, 11 9:46 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

remember though it isn't just about the license.  i know people with licenses who aren't as experienced as my (unlicensed) self.  be careful what you are doing if you don't have a license.  

Jun 17, 11 9:50 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

make that be careful if you are inexperienced

Jun 17, 11 9:51 am  · 
 · 
dustinunrau