Archinect
anchor

Proper wording for "A friend of a friend"...

mjfw

Dear Archinectors,

I will be beginning an internship work term in January lasting for 8 months until the end of August (I am currently in my final semester of 3rd year) and will be beginning the application process soon.

I have made contact with a "friend of a friend" who worked for a very large office that I am extremely interested in working for. I contacted someone I use to work with saying I was interested in working for this office, so he then contacted a friend of his who has worked there and asked if he could perhaps be of any assistance to me in obtaining an internship.

I just received a response from him this morning giving me detailed instructions of who to contact, when to call, and how to refine my portfolio to help be a preferred candidate in their internship selection process. He also said that because I come so highly recommended from the friend of his (the person who I use to work with and who I contacted) that I can use his name in I guess my cover letter and when I contact the office by telephone.

What I am wondering though, is how to go about wording it my cover letter and on the telephone. Something a little more elegant than: "yea, I know this guy who knows this guy that use to work for your office. Wanna hire me???". Perhaps someone has some suggestions for a more formal and appropriate way of wording it which might help.

Thanks.

Oct 5, 10 8:56 am

"Your former employee Person X, who was introduced to me by a shared acquaintance, felt my skills are a good fit for your office and suggested I send my resume blah blah..."

Oct 5, 10 9:02 am  · 
 · 

WAIT!

I screwed up my etiquette hierarchy (forgive me Miss Manners!): since you are of lower status than Person X in this relationship, it's not he who is introduced to you, it's the opposite. So it should be: