Archinect
anchor

Determining Budget/ Cost of Construction

usernametaken1

I'm entering a design competition for a pavilion that has a budget of $46k. The brief says "All submissions must include a project budget including cost for labor, materials and design fees."

I wondered if anyone has "quick and dirty" tips for determining the cost for labor, material, and design fees?

-I suppose I can figure out most material costs, but should I add a percentage for miscellaneous? Is there a typical percentage?
-I have no idea how to determine labor- should I be calling contractors to get a rough price?
-For a competition, what is an appropriate design fee percent? we obviously wouldn't expect to make big money off the job, but would need to cover our costs. Does 10% sound crazy?

This is foreign territory for me as I recently graduated and, though I have some professional experience, I've never been involved in budgeting and have only worked on very large multi-million dollar buildings.

I'd hate for our submission to be immediately dismissed because of the obviously unrealistic budget.

I'd really appreciate any helpful advice...

Sep 26, 10 1:31 am
holz.box

i don't get it... design fees? it's a competition - you designed it already...

can you get a copy of RS Means?

Sep 26, 10 2:04 am  · 
 · 
usernametaken1

we wouldn't expect to be paid for our schematic design submission (the initial competition entry). However, if we were fortunate enough to actually be selected, we would take the project through DD, CD, and CA. Our incurred costs would need to be covered (we're broke!)...everything from printing to travel and accommodations (the site is across the country). With so little experience, it's difficult to even determine how many trips the project would require.

I've never used RS Means- but I'll see if I have access through work. It seems to be a lofty endeavor with our submission being such a schematic proposal (there's a round 2 of DD in the competition).