Archinect
anchor

My bags are packed, but I'm not ready to go

IlliniRunner

I'm a mechanical engineer here in the SF Bay Area, and for a several years now, I've been thinking about going back to school for architecture. I even applied and was accepted to several schools for the previous school year, but chose not to go, because I saw the economy cratering, and it seemed crazy to leave a stable job and take on a bunch of debt for the chance to have a job that I thought I might like better than engineering.

Well, at the end of the year, I lost my job due to financial trouble at my company, and I took this as a sign to go for it.

I was admitted into the 3+ year program at the University of Washington in Seattle, and committed to go there. I even lined up an internship at an architecture firm in the San Francisco Bay area from April to September. I loved working there, and did pretty well (though it was mostly "fun" stuff like model building).

But as the school year approached, I began to get cold feet. I had been applying somewhat passively for engineering jobs (in order to qualify for unemployment) and a few months ago, I applied at a small start up doing green energy tech. They got back to me, and I interviewed with them, basically because of my cold-feet about architecture and moving to Seattle. I didn't think I did well in the interview, and didn't really expect anything to come of it. But lo and behold, last week they got back to me with an offer.

So now I'm sitting here, all my stuff is packed up for the move, classes start in a week up in Seattle, and I don't know what to do.

I'm scared of moving. I'm scared of taking on a bunch of debt to finance my education. I'm scared I wouldn't be able to cut it. I'm scared that I won't be able to find a job coming out of school. I'm scared it won't be worth it.