Archinect
anchor

revit on resume

greyvsgray

revit is a huge program, and I've been picking up bits here and there (I'm a recent grad);

question: when is it fair to state on your resume that you have a "basic" knowledge or understanding of revit?

should one have completed a project with it? be familiar with the interface and the basic tools? impossible to answer?

thanks!

Sep 19, 10 3:26 pm
creativity expert

there's not clear answer to your question, frankly there is no answer that will make you happy, why do i say this? well if you are new like other graduates, companies are looking to hire you because you are cheap labor period. Specifically for a particular project, then they will typically fire you within a year and half, that is the pre recession- depression routine.

Has this routine changed since this great architecture depression? I was let go about 10 months ago, and so far from people i know who are still working, firms are pretty much holding on to the people they have on the pay roll at the moment, quite frankly they have invested too much time and money on these people and they don't want to see them go, after all they didn't fire them throughout this great depression, why do it now? unless we double dip then its all over for everyone.

Just mention all computer programs that you are a pro at include Revit, if you went to college and had to pay upwards of 700 a credit hour to learn Revit, you are a pro the rest is just on the job training and learning other peoples standards, frankly speaking people are still using Revit as if it was Acadd, good luck to you hope this was helpful.

Sep 19, 10 4:05 pm  · 
 · 
greyvsgray

...I should say, picking up bits *since* graduation. I'm still very much a novice.

anyways, thanks for the (somewhat ominous) response DQ

Sep 19, 10 4:47 pm  · 
 · 
rethinkit

DonQuixote

"frankly speaking people are still using Revit as if it was Acadd, good luck to you hope this was helpful."