Archinect
anchor

Intern appications

hansdampf

Dear archinects,

I'm new to this country (and forum) and have a couple of questions for you.

1) I've sent out tons of applications for an intern (recent graduate) position. No answers (no surprise there). Would you guys call the offices and ask if they got the application or should I just assume they don't want me if I haven't heard anything after a certain time? Would it even be considered annoying if I called?

2) Do you think that the fact that I don't have one of these fancy "accredited degrees", not even one from the US, significantly lower my chances?

3) Would a membership in the AIA increase my opportunities? I could get in as something like an "associate", as I understand it, but it's expensive and I don't know if it's worth it.

4) Will employers believe me if I write "I'll be happy to relocate for this position" or is it better to write that I'm about to move to the area anyway, in terms of interviews etc?

More questions to come, I guess... It's complicated ;)

Aug 12, 10 7:33 pm
Le Courvoisier

Basically if you don't have a Bachelors or Masters in Architecture or are not currently in school or know someone, you aren't going to get an internship. Also everyone is an intern until they are licensed in the US.

1) Yes they probably will think it is annoying since you don't meet the minimum requirements.

2) Yes it will greatly hurt your chances.

3) You have to be in school working on IDP, or have graduated with an accredited degree to be an AIA associate.

4) Right now a willingness to relocate is a requirement, but it is always good to say you are willing to move.

Depending on what your degree is in, you may want to take another route into the offices (for instance marketing, graphic design, etc.)

Good luck!

Aug 12, 10 7:42 pm  · 
 · 
hansdampf

Thanks joshuamings,