Archinect
anchor

How much pay should I expect?

Wannabe1988

Dear archinect members, I am currently working as an freelancer intern with a company in Malaysia (southeast asia). The scope of my works right now as a freelancer will be building a 3d model with a few render (the rest of the technical drawings will be provided). The 3d model is a bungalow, above 2-3 stories heigh (he has yet to send me the drawings). As for my academic background, I currently just finished my year two and entering year three in this september. Also, this is my first time working as an intern in an architecture firm. The architect is asking how much should I be expecting for the pay but I am a little clueless with the market now. I discussed this with my dad and he said that i should demand a pay of 300usd for this work but I think it's a little too high since some of my friends are working full time without payment but I might be wrong. So, based on the experience of the architects in archinect, how much should I be expecting? how is it for the salary in your regions? thank you for your time!

Aug 12, 10 3:44 am

In the US, I have charged between $1000 and $1500 for one rendering of a 2-3 story home, depending on the level of detail and time-line. I have 5+ years of experience with renderings.

I'm not sure what the market is like in Malaysia, but unless you have extensive rendering experience your target range sounds appropriate, others with more knowledge of the local market could be more exact.

Aug 12, 10 3:52 am  · 
 · 
Wannabe1988

are you provided with all the technical drawings (section, elevation and plan) or do you need to build everything from scratch?

I wonder what is the appropriate time frame in the practice to build a 3d model from a given technical drawings with two or three render?

by the way, thank you for your reply. Sorry for the grammatical error as I am typing this in a hurry but thank you!

Aug 12, 10 3:57 am  · 
 ·