Archinect
anchor

OMA internship- again

jacklawyer

I am in my third year b.arch student interested in joining the OMA for the 4 month internship starting this time NEXT YEAR.

Rotterdam,U.S.A or hong kong is fine.

1.When should i start applying?

2.Will my pay cover the housing in these places?

3.What sort of a portfolio should i send in? are there any specifications?

Thanks for your time.

Jul 28, 10 7:13 pm
swisscardlite

1. probably around 2-3 months before you would want to start

2. yes, as long as you're not looking for a fancy apartment

3. there's no desired format..as long as it is less than 2mb

Jul 28, 10 7:22 pm  · 
 · 
jacklawyer

I dont have a work permit to work in either hong kong USA OR Rotterdam.
Neither do i have any previous work experience. How will this affect my chances?

Jul 28, 10 7:27 pm  · 
 · 
swisscardlite

it depends on your nationality and the office you are applying to but generally you apply for a work permit only after you have received an offer.

all the best,

j

Jul 28, 10 7:42 pm  · 
 · 
iheartbooks

3. a f'ing amazing one.

Jul 29, 10 7:15 am  · 
 · 
jacklawyer

iheartbooks-Why do u say that??

Jul 29, 10 9:01 am  · 
 · 
iheartbooks

How many applications do you think they get a week? 100, 1000? The small, local office i work for in NYC gets probably 50 a week.

The online application process makes it very difficult to stand out from the crowd, so unless you know someone working there or your portfolio is amazing you will just end up lumped in with thousands of other applicants. Even if it is amazing there are no guarantees. Great portfolios seem to be the minimum in such a competitive market.

Not to play debby-downer, but good luck jack.

Jul 29, 10 11:35 am  · 
 · 
Balagan

The least you can do is try.
I sent stuff through their website and got an interview.
It took them about 2 months though.

Aug 4, 10 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
dia