Archinect
anchor

Getting your first Internship/Job

gillicsj

I am a recent graduate with a BS in Architecture. I have never had an internship and do not have any experience working in any architectural setting. I realize that having no experience is not ideal in today's work environment, so I am completely open to having the opportunity to shadow someone at a firm and learn as much as I can to gain some sort of knowledge of what goes on in the real world.

I have been emailing and sending out resumes/portfolios to firms in my area, hoping to land something. One firm I would really like to work at (Their views on architecture and how it affects people and the environment are the same as my own) happens to be my high-school classmates father's. Their website does not have any sort of indication that they are seeking help, but I did send in a hopeful letter to them anyway. So far, there has been no reply. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to grab a copy of my resume and portfolio, walking in and talking to somebody there just to get my name passed around to see what comes of it would be a good idea. However, since I graduated high-school with the principal architect's daughters, (And was known as a very nice, smart young man) it was mentioned to me that a good idea might be to simply talk to them and see if they could put in a word for me. 

I figured that since I am not exactly looking for a job, but more of an internship/shadow opportunity (Obviously internship/job would be better, but i'll take what I can get) that both of these ideas wouldn't be too bad and couldn't hurt. However, before I attempt either, I was looking for opinions on which might be better to do, or if I should just forget about that firm all together.

Thank you!

May 19, 14 10:22 pm
C. Watts