Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

News, events, and conversations about architectural education in North America and beyond.

  • anchor

    ACSA Announces Architectural Education Award Winners 

    By ACSA_National
    Jan 30, '18 10:01 AM EST

    The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector. 

    View the winners and their projects:


    2017-2018 Architecture Education Award Winners

    ACSA/American Institute of Architects (AIA) Topaz Medallion

    • Jorge Silvetti, Harvard University

    ACSA Distinguished Professor Award

    • Dana Buntrock, University of California, Berkeley
    • Renee Cheng, University of Minnesota
    • Judith A. Kinnard, Tulane University
    • Marilys R. Nepomechie, Florida International University
    • John Ronan, Illinois Institute of Technology

    ACSA/AIA New Faculty Teaching Award

    • Ashlie Latiolais, University of Louisiana–Lafayette
    • Danielle Shea Willkens, Auburn University

    ACSA Creative Achievement Award

    • Linda Nelson Keane & Mark Keane, School of the Art Institute of Chicago & University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    • Julie Larsen, Syracuse University
    • Shahin Vassigh, Florida International University

    ACSA/AIA Practice & Leadership Award

    • Renee Cheng, University of Minnesota Professional Practice Class
    • Courtney Crosson, University of Arizona Downtown Tucson 2050 Plan
    • Stephen White & Gregory Laramie, Roger Williams University Career Investment Program 

    ACSA Design Build Award

    • Taiji Miyasaka, Max Kirk, David Drake & Paul Hirzel, Washington State University Black Shed
    • William Koning & Rick Sommerfeld, University of Colorado Denver Confluence Hall
    • Kansas State University Team Waldo Duplex
    • Christopher D. Trumble, University of Arizona Sonoran Pentapus S.cape 

    ACSA Collaborative Practice Award

    • Aziza Chaouni, University of Toronto "Let's Talk"
    • John E. Folan, Carnegie Mellon University & Urban Design Build Studio Cultural Construction
    • John E. Folan, Carnegie Mellon University & Urban Design Build Studio NavADAPT LAB
    • Rhode Island School of Design Architecture Team Southlight 

    ACSA Faculty Design Award

    • Molly Hunker & Gregory Corso, Syracuse University Runaway
    • Jennifer Newsom, University of Minnesota & Tom Carruthers, Dream the Combine Longing
    • Ana Morcillo Pallares & Jonathan Rule, University of Michigan MUDEM
    • Luis Pancorbo & Ines Martin, University of Virginia Vegas Altas Congress Center 

    ACSA/AIA Housing Design Education Award

    • Joe Colistra, University of Kansas Endowed Housing Studio
    • Pavlina Ilieva, Morgan State University Baltimore Housing Studio
    • Antje K. Steinmuller & Neeraj Bhatia, California College of the Arts Living Together: Equity through Commoning Domestic Space

    JAE Best Article Award

    • Design as Scholarship Scaling for Non-Expert Production by Jacob Mans, University of Minnesota
    • Scholarship of Design Architecture in Support of Citizenry  by Clare Robinson, University of Arizona

    View the winners and their projects:

    • No Comments

    • Block this user

      Are you sure you want to block this user and hide all related comments throughout the site?


      This is your first comment on Archinect. Your comment will be visible once approved.

    • Back to Entry List...
  • ×Search in:

About this Blog

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture is a nonprofit membership organization, founded in 1912 to advance the quality of architectural education. Our members are over 250 schools, including all accredited programs in the USA and Canada, schools seeking accreditation, and non-accredited and international programs--representing over 40,000 architecture faculty and students.

Authored by:

  • ACSA National
  • Michael Monti
    Michael Monti Washington, DC, US
  • Lian Chikako Chang
  • ACSA_National

Other blogs from the same authors:

Recent Entries