Archinect
anchor

How to become an architect developer

mojada

Hi everyone,

I've read this forum a lot but this is my first post so I just wanted to start off by saying thanks for all of the knowledge you have shared on here.  

I am a young architect considering the architect developer path just trying to soak up any insight I can find.  I am really curious why there aren't more architect developers - it seems like an obvious career pivot that can empower an architect to fully realize their vision of improving the built environment while also making a lot more money.  I have generated estimated pro formas for several buildings where I was able to get cost data and I am routinely seeing profit margins of 25% and greater which is obviously a lot of money.  Also the architect developer projects tend to be far more creative because you don't have some conservative developer with poor taste calling the shots.  So can anyone speak to why more architects aren't doing this?

Also I am looking for any resources that you guys might know of.  I am aware of Jonathan Segal and John Portman but outside of that it seems difficult to find knowledge besides going a masters degree or working for a developer.  Please share whatever you know!!

If anyone else is looking to take this path I'd love to connect and talk as well.  

Thanks,
James           

Jan 25, 14 12:35 pm
citizen

Many threads on this subject are available via the search function...

Jan 25, 14 12:59 pm  · 
 · 

You are on the right track. This is one of the best way for an architect to make some serious money and realize the original dream you had when you got into architecture.

Gang Chen, Author, AIA, LEED AP BD+C

Jan 25, 14 2:36 pm  · 
 · 
Saint in the City

mojada

I love this idea.  

Citizen's post would suggest that the topic has been discussed at length on the forum -- in fact it has not.