Archinect
anchor

5 year expectations

zonker

When are the expectations of an office that says they are looking for someone with 3 - 5 years experience - what are they looking for? I see many variants on this - I have 5 years experience of BIM production at the  2.5 year exp. level and don't want to get in over my head and get fired if I shoot for a 3 - 5 year experience position. - It turns out my only selling point is as a fast RevitWrist - 

Aug 18, 13 4:44 pm
MyDream

why would they fire you? I would love to see how it turns out for you ,maybe I could get there one day...and good luck on you application.

Aug 21, 13 10:53 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ
3-5 years is where you begin to separate production from middle management. The difference between a project architect/project manager and a production architect/senior designer is the ability to drive schedules, manage staff/contractors/clients and understand budgets.

Depending on the position offered they will be looking for either someone who can move into a senior designer role or someone who will start the transition to management. 3-5 years is the "sweet spot" for employment now because it's in demand and allows you to choose your path in the profession.
Aug 21, 13 11:16 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ
Also having 3-5 years of recent experience implies that you stayed gainfully employed through this downturn...another highly marketable trait.
Aug 21, 13 11:18 pm  · 
 · 
poop876

LITS4FormZ,

I agree and although I'm totally against it, the others in my office refuse to look at resumes from somebody that was not employed the entire time since 2009. They think something is wrong if they could not find employment. I think its a missed opportunity to have very highly skilled architects on our team...but I don't make all the shots!

Aug 22, 13 9:18 am  · 
 · 
zonker