Archinect
anchor

2013 M.Arch Applicants, Commiserate Here!

observant

I graduated from McGill.  It is nice to see it mentioned and well regarded these days.

McGill is fantastic.  They've never had a 3 year program and I was clueless about crossing the border for an education, which some Americans do.  I would have gladly gone; that is, if I could have gotten in, now that I now Montreal fairly well.  One interesting thing:  their architecture school is within the engineering school, so for those getting a bachelor's degree, there are common classes with civil engineers.  Not so for M.Arch. folks schooled elsewhere, so that point is moot.  To anybody who gets into McGill, and not an Ivy: "don't worry, be happy."  And Montreal is more livable than any of the places in which Ivys are located.

Mar 1, 13 1:33 pm  · 
 · 
New ARch

Any news about WUSTL?????

Mar 1, 13 1:57 pm  · 
 · 
jacobcohen

McGill grad here too! Great to see it represented.  I however did my BA in geography and Art History. Montreal is an amazing city adn I had the oppurtunity to take several lecture based classes through the school of Architecture's Master program, the profs are amazing! Applied to M.Arch1 programs still waiting on all of them:

University of Toronto, Carleton, UBC, WUSTL, GSD, PennDesign, Cornell.

Hope to hear from GSD and WUSTL soon as they came out around this time last year.

Anyone know time frame for the Canadian schools?

Mar 1, 13 4:22 pm  · 
 · 
ctlaltdel

@jawknow

Regarding your fellowship offer from UCLA --- do you already have a B.Arch?  I applied to UCLA without prior training and received a fellowship for the first year only, though not quite as much money as yours. I'm guessing they don't drop longer-term offers to unknown commodities though, so hopefully if I end up there and bust my ass, I'll get more funding for the 2nd and 3rd year.  Either way, their tuition is a little more approachable than many schools, particularly after you establish CA residency.