Archinect
anchor

Thinking of Doing My Own Structural Calcs for Home Projects - Crazy Idea?

ligesaja

Hey everyone,

So, I've been tossing around the idea of handling the structural calculations myself for my home projects. Usually, I'd pass this off to the experts, but part of me is curious if I could manage it on my own.

Do any of you do your own calcs, or is that just asking for trouble? I'm pretty handy and know my way around a construction site, but I'm no engineer. Are there tools or guides out there that have helped you out? And how do you make sure you're not missing something important that could get you in hot water later on?

Would really appreciate hearing if anyone's gone down this road themselves. Any stories or advice you've got could really help me figure out if this is something I should even consider.

Thanks for letting me pick your brains!

Mar 10, 24 11:40 pm
bowling_ball

So long as you're following your relevant codes, it should be relatively easy. And if you're using any trusses or pre-eng products, your suppliers should provide their products under seal. No big deal really.

Mar 11, 24 12:20 am  · 
 · 
luvu

I can’t even stand behind the bar serving alcohol without a licence in my nanny state … G luck though 

Mar 11, 24 4:42 am  · 
1  · 
smaarch

I did for years. I would say it really depends on how big and/or complex your work is. Simple wood and steel beams, flitch plates - sure. There are often subtleties in structural  design that may be missed without experience. Long spans and vibration, Beefing up floor systems under heavy elements, rotational  forces, etc. I often did calcs by hand, checking software results until I was comfortable with it

Mar 11, 24 5:14 am  · 
1  · 
t a z

Assuming you're not in a seismic zone, following a prescriptive code for timber framed SFR construction should be pretty standard.

What other residential construction materials are you designing with? CMU? LGMF?