Archinect
anchor

Interior design to Architecture

baobap47

Hi, I am currently looking to shift my career to more architectural scope such as new construction of core & shell, building envelope, building layout, zoning, permit, site design, etc - so what AOR is likely to be doing.  

I earned an accredited ARCH degree 5 years ago but ever since I was mostly working in a interior design oriented firms. Thus I gained a chunk of experience in interior projects, but my portfolio's scope is  limited as a architectural designer. I have some custom curtainwall details render of exterior options also, but lacking the the building context & ground up procedure since they are from renovation projects.  

Can I present my work in front of the firms doing more ground up buildings? How could I make a selling point to be involved into the new construction projects? I am pursuing architectural licensure but not there yet. 

Any advices will be appreciated.

Dec 2, 23 11:26 pm
reallynotmyname

You are junior enough that I think a firm would be willing to take you on as a person they can train in new construction.   I assume after 5 years you know your way around architectural software and office procedures, that's a good thing you bring to the table.

Just make sure any new job is based on a genuine commitment from the employer to broaden your skills, and there is a measurable plan to do so.  Watch out for situations where the employer wants you initially placed in interiors assignments with vague promises about eventually moving you over to base buildings.

Dec 7, 23 1:47 pm  · 
3  · 
baobap47

Thanks for your advice Really not my name, I am thinking to put those exterior / envelope / zoning study works in the front page and reduce the interior portions from my portfolio so that inverviewer is under impression that I have a main experience in the base building and ready to answer any questions on that scope. Would that be a good approach? 

Dec 10, 23 6:28 pm  · 
 ·