Archinect
anchor

Is the architecture industry this brutal for everyone? (Long, rant)

canolaoil96

I studied, work and live in Australia as a graduate of architecture. I graduated my M.Arch at the end of 2021 and could only find a job through nepotism at the studio I am currently working at. I have been at this studio for almost 2 years working on massive Saudi projects (I cant be too specific because I am under NDA, and I will not get into a debate about ethics if you try to change the subject). I am trying to get out of the studio I am in for an array of reasons, but the primary reasons being pay and lack of support in the office. 

My supervisor, the founder/partner is typically overseas, whether it be attending client meetings or running one of the other offices, so typically the responsibilities fall to me to manage the office as they refuse to hire more competent or experienced staff than myself (most "employees" are unpaid interns). I am essentially working two jobs; office manager, and graduate of architecture. All the while receiving very little guidance or mentorship. Not to mention I am severely underpaid for my time (60+ hour weeks most weeks, 25% below the average pay bracket). 

The reality of my situation is: I cannot find another job locally because I am somehow (to use the words a friend used) over- and under-experienced. Too experienced with big projects to work for a smaller firm doing local work, but also not experienced enough to work there because I am not familiar enough with local codes and regulations. 

I really just want to know if anyone else feels this level of frustration with the industry, locally to me or abroad, because it seems like learning on the job is a thing of the past and you're now just expected to know everything from Day 1, even as a graduate.