Archinect
anchor

Shades of 2009

Does anyone else feel like we are back in the recession of 2009, or maybe the moments when everything stopped in 2008 before we realized the car was already over the cliff?

I'm a mid career architect, 12 years of experience, 8 of which is post-licensure.  I remember the great recession of 2009 like it was yesterday, I spent 9 months unemployed and wondered often if I should leave this profession.

I was laid off in March when my office closed our commercial division, letting 30 of us go in one day.  I had only been there 8 months, and it wasn't the best fit, so during that time and for the 3-4 months prior to getting the job I had been actively on the job market.  In the grand total, I've now been on the job market for over 15 months, working the network and applying on the jobs boards.

Sure, during that time there were a couple of almost jobs, interviews and negotiations that didn't get to a place that worked for me or for them.  But the last one of those was in December, while I was still employed.  I haven't found a good solid lead for someone in the 10-15 range of experience in almost 7 months.  I see a ton of jobs for the 0-6 range, but after that the boards are almost empty.

I was talking with a colleague tonight who is in the 35+ years of experience range who is also unemployed and has been for almost as long as I have been.  They were noticing the same thing.

What do you all see out there?  Is this just a statistical anomaly, a blip?  Or are we already over a cliff, but we just don't know it?

Jun 29, 17 4:33 am
Wilma Buttfit

Beware the impact you might have by starting an expression with "Shades of"

Jun 29, 17 11:31 am  · 
 · 

What do you mean?

Jun 30, 17 3:58 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

There is a recent piece of pop culture that starts with "Shades of" that pops to mind. No biggie. Good luck.

Jun 30, 17 11:15 am  · 
 · 
chigurh

this post screams masochist

Jun 30, 17 1:54 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh