Archinect
anchor

Architectural Computation

stungbyscorpion

Hi Guys,

I am interested in Architectural Computation and I might join some masters related to the same.

I have no prior knowledge in programming, computation, digital fabrication etc.

Could you'll please tell me which programming languages should I familiarize myself with before joining the course, so that I can have some prior knowledge in the field and so that can use my time during the course to actually do something by applying the softwares rather than use the course to just learn a particular software.

Also, are there preferences in programming languages taught/used in the arch schools in UK and USA or is it all the same?

Any advise would be highly appreciated.

Dec 21, 15 2:18 pm
tomahawks_619

Hey 

Umm most of the computation stuff is grasshopper, kangaroo and plugins based on grasshopper. Python is used at times if more complex algorithms are required but Grasshopper is pretty good in general.

Be fluent in Rhino and Grasshopper to start with and most rhino plugins.

MIT, Sci Arc, Columbia , GSD and Michigan but they are sorta changing their philosophy now are the most popular schools for computation. 

Dec 21, 15 10:39 pm  · 
 · 
ArchInspired

Hi tomahawks,

Thanks for your insight! Any other schools on the east coast that you would recommend, as that's where I'm applying to? Thank you!

Dec 21, 15 11:50 pm  · 
 · 
stungbyscorpion

Thank you tomahwks_619 for your comments.

Let me be more specific here..

Are certain programming languages given more importance than the other depending upon the location of the schools? UK and USA? I wasn't asking for which universities have courses catering to architectural computation.

Thanks again.

Dec 22, 15 3:53 am  · 
 · 

stungbyscorpion,