Archinect
anchor

You know, the Republicans are sort of right on taxes...

won and done williams

I am a small business owner that makes about $150,000/year after business deductions. My wife is a professor at a university and makes $84,000/year. We have two kids that we have to put in daycare to allow us to work. Out of curiosity I wanted to see what our life would look like if I closed my business and stayed home to raise our kids. Interestingly our lifestyle would be roughly the same as it is now. The way the tax code is written it penalizes work to the point it financially makes more sense to not work. How so? The $150,000 I earn is taxed at the 25% rate; additionally I am paying roughly 14% in self-employment taxes on top of that. With an income of over $200,000, I am not eligible for a host of tax credits, deductions, and exemptions that lower income workers are eligible for. My wife and I both have large student loans that when put on government payback programs that cap payments at 10% of gross income, incentivizes earning less to lower payments. Then there are the non-governmental incentives to not work, like not having to put your children in daycare, lowering your transportation costs, cooking at home instead of eating out to save time, etc. It all amounts to very little incentive to work. So basically instead of putting in 50 hour weeks, having the anxiety of meeting payroll week-after-week, missing seeing my children grow up, etc., I could just stay home and really not notice any significant change to our lifestyle by not working. Something seems wrong about that.

Nov 17, 15 11:26 am

What exactly are you complaining about? You're rich. Enjoy it. If you want to be less rich and have more time, enjoy that.

Nov 17, 15 11:40 am  · 
 · 
anonitect

I don't understand your student loan complaint. You and your wife are making really good money - just pay them off - why would you keep accruing interest?