Archinect
anchor

Associate Architect or Architect in Training?

Wilma Buttfit

NS, I am not in disagreement with you, but I think most all architecture graduates can LEARN to draw a REAL wall section if they are given some instruction. Archi shool grads aren't nearly as dumb as our employers make us out to be. It is hard when our employers whine and cry about how they don't have a perfect life and that graduates aren't able to make up the difference in all the gaps they have in their firm!

(Just to remind all that I am not a whiny intern, I am a former intern, now an employer and partner in an interdisciplinary field that I am creating (architecting???) with a business partner. I learned everything on the job by the way of a lot of hard work and some very helpful and conscientious mentors, a contrast to what I had in IDP.)

Aug 5, 14 12:58 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Tint, I agree. I have a colleague who is second in command in an office with just the type of principle you describe and it's really starting to drain him.

It's one thing to demand perfection, it's another to demand basic levels. I struggle to find the latter.

Aug 5, 14 1:03 pm  · 
 · 
jdparnell1218

@ Tint,

"Whether or not IDP is easy depends on your situation. I had to move to finish it. Well I guess I didn't HAVE to, but I already worked for the best firm (there were only 3 firms total) in my small city and they turned out to be misogynist chauvinistic limbaugh listening bible thumpers and eventually we just didn't get along so well and I didn't want to finish my IDP with either of the 2 other firms so I moved 700 miles to a big city to finish IDP. Would've started my own firm if I would have had the skills to do so. But I still had 1,200 hours of servitude left or something like that. How about architectural servant? Is that allowed?"