Archinect
anchor

Associate Architect or Architect in Training?

Thayer-D

Donna, you're right about that legally and I wouldn't recommend calling yourself an architect if you haven't completed the requirements, but in truth, that's what a building designer is.  But to go back to a pervious point, who cares what you are called if you know what you are?

If the AIA spent half the time simplifying codes and streamlining the permit process that they spend on these kind of questions, we might have a true vernacular architecture.  As it is, the generic stuff that passes for architecture is so devoid of anything wonderful, it's no wonder our advanced civilization has such a pathetic built legacy.

The existing over beaurocratized system produces the kind of professional bifurcation that Steven Ward talks about.  I'm a staunch pro-government liberal, but there is way too much regulation for my taste at the local level and not enough at the multi-national level.  Then again, that's no surprise.

Aug 8, 14 9:16 am  · 
 · 

Wait.  The AIA doesn't spend time on finding people who are illegally calling themselves architects, the state board does that.

The AIA is currently working with the associated organizations to simplify paths to licensure, to change the terminology away from "intern" to something that most likely includes the term architect, and to create academic programs that allow one to use the term upon graduation.

I feel I have to be a stickler about this because it's so easy to accuse the AIA of being a bunch of old white men who throw awards banquets for themselves.  That attitude betrays a real ignorance of what the AIA is doing right now.  If people would deign to be active in their AIAs they would see this for themselves and they could be part of the change.

(Locally, by the way, my AIA is working on streamlining the permit process.  I can't speak for other local chapters on that front.)

Aug 8, 14 9:36 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit