Archinect
anchor

working at SANAA?

Hello.

Was wondering if anyone has experienced working at SANAA or perhaps currently working them - as a foreigner?

Have been looking at their works a lot in the past year and somewhat my uni works developed to resemble their approach.

The thought of going to Japan and work for them has been residing in my head for quite sometime since I graduated last year in Dec 2010, although I receive occasion discouragements from family and friends.

1)
is there any probability to get an offer if I'm applying for the position offshore?

2)
How essential to learn Japanese language? would this be a prime consideration of getting an offer at SANAA?

3)
I need to be able to afford my own living expenses if I'm working there. I have 2 yrs full-time experience as assistant architect prior to completing my study, will I be paid for this?
Low wage is ok, but I need to survive on my own.

Thank you for reading. Any information could be shared or feedback will be much appreciated.

Thank you

Mar 7, 11 7:09 pm
nonneutral

There's some horror stories about them floating around here if you dig hard enough. I'm not sure how true they are, but they make for entertaining reading. I don't think they pay, but I'm not 100% sure. I suppose there's no way to find out if you'll get it or not unless you apply.

Mar 7, 11 10:14 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!

Someone who worked there blogged about it .

Highlights:
-most interns work for free.
-they stay there up to 5 months.
-you bring your own computer.
-there may not be any actual desk space for you to work on.
-if you leave at midnight, you're the first one to leave.
-office appears to be unheated.

So there.

You'd think with all that free labor, they'd be able to afford to design some ornamentation for their dumb white cardboard boxes, but no.

Why do you want to whore it up for those guys? At least Michael Graves will teach you how to properly design an aluminum column enclosure...

Mar 7, 11 10:16 pm  · 
 · 
leaves