Archinect
anchor

Laptop Capable of Running Rhino? (The open GL issue)

larchsj

Hi everyone,

I had settled on a laptop I liked that combined specs I wanted (good ram, processor speed) with portability.

I'm not a power-user--I'm out of school, and want to be able to use my computer for drafting and design with Rhino occasionally when I have my own project--but I'm not a crazy renderer and I probably wont even buy a special rendering software. I am a landscape architect, so sometimes my models are a bit complex because they include topography.

I had found a model I liked- 2.0 processor, 8 GB ram but then found that there was this whole issue with Intel graphics cards being not so great for Rhino because they dont support OpenGL. Looking again at the options out there, it looks like it's actually pretty hard to find a new laptop that's being made that doesn't ship with that Intel 4000 or 4400 card.

So what should I be looking at?

Thanks!

PS-  I checked the forum and didn't see this topic covered so let me know if I've missed something.

May 5, 14 11:32 am
archanonymous

You should check the newest Rhino specifications on www.Rhino3d.com - that list is really old - I don't even recognize some of those cards' model numbers.

I can't comment on integrated graphics from Intel, but looking at the version of OpenCL they use, they should run Rhino OK. GPU is only used by Rhino for generating the preview and drawing the viewports. Rhino Render and Flamingo Render are both CPU render engines, and Rhino does all of its calculations using the CPU as well. GPU just draws - I haven't done extensive research, but Intel Iris 5000 or 5200 graphics seem like they will have enough "oomph" although don't expect to view really large or complex models.

May 5, 14 7:15 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Also, why would you get a convertible device for running Rhino? Do you really need a touchscreen?