Archinect
anchor

Bachelor of Fine Arts for undergrad?

TuckerJ

Hey all, this is my first time posting on this forum so I hope I'm doing it correctly. I am currently at a school that doesn't really give you a defined major because it is interdisciplinary. We have an architectural pathway but regardless of the classes I take I get the same degree. We also don't have grades, we only have credit/no credit. Does anyone know any architectural grad schools that will accept this? My school has an accredited grad school for architecture, but I rather not go to the same school for both undergrad and grad. 

Thanks

May 5, 14 10:35 am
pale shelter

Here's an idea: if you want to do architecture; go get a Bachelor of Architecture in 5 years vs this 4+2 4+3 nonsense... why the 4 years of non-defined loosy goosy courses? I'm trying to figure this out  .... what is it that 4yr+ programs teach in the those 4 years that do not equate to a professional degree??... seems like that 4 years is just a transitional period until you take their +2 or +3 years ... great marketing from the college standpoint. It's like a lease-to-buy car program.

May 5, 14 1:36 pm  · 
 · 
I agree partially with 'pale shelter'. Why not go to a B.Arch program straight out? Well some M.Arch graduate programs have a better curriculum. And a 4 year undergraduate program will give you the skills you need for a career and find your focus for when you are ready to go to graduate school. You need an M.Arch Degree for licensure in most states.
So don't dabble with fine arts if you really want to practice architecture. It's good to study that but it will set you back in school. If you're trying to save money go for the B.Arch.
May 13, 14 11:17 am  · 
 · 
n1ntyn9n

SAIC is like this...unless thats the school you are it...which it really sounds like!

May 23, 14 11:46 am  · 
 · 
jdparnell1218