Archinect
anchor

First time learning - CAD or Revit or other ?

mikemoore

Hello out there, advise needed please..

I certainly feel like an imposter here as I ask not as an architect by any means but as a site/project manager. Last year the team converted an old London pub into five modern flats.

What I seek to do is create an animation showing the build and its key aspects. Ideally I would like a simplified but stylish 3D model with fly throughs and cross sections of certain sections. 

I have no experience working with animation software and dont want to break the bank. Would people suggest using some sort of CAD or I saw posts on Revit??   

Apr 25, 14 3:54 pm
jdparnell1218

If you are looking for a simple massing/design tool, that can do walk-throughs and fly-throughs, that requires little training, and won't break the bank then you might want to start with Google Sketch Up.  Google provides basic tutorials that can get you started.  Not to mention, the basic version of the software is free.  Check this link for more info:

http://www.sketchup.com/

I love Revit.  It is my software of choice; but you would probably end up paying an arm and a leg for the licensing.  It also has a steep learning curve.  I'v been using it since 2008, and it is a wonderful drafting/3D modeling software.  But, it took a while to get the hang of.  I feel I am some what of a master at it now, but I started using it 6 years ago.

I hope I helped.

Apr 25, 14 4:38 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Rhino. Nuff Said.

Apr 25, 14 6:48 pm  · 
 · 
mikemoore

Hey thanks jdparnell, that makes a lot of sense. As much as I would like to learn something like Revit I know I wont have the time!.. I'll check out Sketch up.

Blessings,   Mike

Apr 27, 14 7:55 am  · 
 ·