Archinect
anchor

AA MA program

asopydoo

Hello all. I am an American student with a 4 yr B.S. Arch. I was just accepted into AA's MA program for housing and urbanism. Going to the AA has been a dream, however I didn't realize I could only be considered for the MA, not an MArch. From what I understand, I will not be able to get a license in either the U.K. or the U.S. with this degree. Is anyone else in the same situation? Is it worth going to AA for just an MA degree and seeing if I can get a MArch from a school in the U.S. afterwords (hopefully on a quicker path) just so I can get licensed?

Thanks!

Apr 4, 14 10:30 am
edvanard

Hi wserg,

Im currently pursuing in MA degree in University of Sheffield and planning to work in uk or europe or us after I graduated. I also dont have any idea about how this MA degree compare with MArch in terms of job careers. (Im a non eu citizen)

Do you think that I can still compete with other MArch students when it comes to getting a job? I recently submitted my works to some offices around eu to get an internship position this summer but they havent replied it yet..

Thank you

Apr 25, 14 1:36 pm  · 
 · 

Hi wserg,

I have a similar degree and explored the AA as well, with a similar discovery. 

For the education portion;
You could try looking into schools that would allow you to transfer your B.S. credits and 'finish' your Barch, which would then qualify you for the AA's MArch.  Because schools are out to make money, I'm assuming they'd require you to do more than just one year of credits, but it still might be worth it since the AA's March is only 16 months. 

For the certification post grad concerns;