Archinect
anchor

Does it pay off or not

On the fence

One more time.

Lets all do the math and see if more loans equals better pay.

http://finance.yahoo.com/college-education/article/109081/in-hard-times-lured-into-trade-school-and-debt

Mar 17, 10 4:14 pm
aquapura

Interesting article. They're taking the for-profit schools to task, which is understandable, but I don't see how public schools are any different. Granted, no university admissions is going to promise a salary for something like a poetry major, but I was promised a job and income level with a degree in Architecture. They did promote their vast amumni network, named some major firms that had alumni at the top of them (and liked to hire from their school), showed 1st year wages of the most recent graduating class, and said I'd make that or more when I got my BArch in 5 years.

It wasn't as easy as they made it sound, but thankfully I graduated enough years ago to take advantage of a mostly rising economy.

Still, for most careers, including Architecture, you learn more on-the-job than anywhere else. Granted, some careers require a degree, Architecture included, but many do not. I have a few friends in trades that just learned on the job and worked their way up and are doing quite well. The problem is breaking in at that entry level. Tough to do in any career path right now.

Mar 18, 10 8:53 am  · 
 · 
montagneux

My public university did make a "guarantee (more of a grand gesture)" that more than 80% of their graduates were employed within a year of graduating.

However, statistics from their alumnus association point out that something like 85% of all graduates are within a 100 miles of the campus.

Mar 18, 10 9:08 am  · 
 · 
won and done williams