Archinect
anchor

Working in Australia

BDA

I'm currently a 5th year architecture student in the U.S. and will e graduating in May.

I am interested in working in Australia. Does anyone know the best way to go about this? Can any architects working in Australia share their current experiences?

Thanks!

Mar 11, 10 5:45 pm
induct

Probably best to visit over here and go to firms you are interested in. Also research the different visa options between the US and Aus. Otherwise it would be shortterm or you would have to find someone to sponsor you.

Mar 23, 10 12:15 am  · 
 · 
LOOP!

induct, do you think contract work is a possibility for those on the temp. visa? I see a lot of the jobs advertised online, I just wonder how willing firms are to hire someone from overseas for a short-term gig like that.

Mar 23, 10 3:04 am  · 
 · 
dlb

you need to ascertain if you can get a short-term work visa.

certainly for europeans, it is possible to get a 6 month temporary work visa. this allows work in office for up to about 6 months (sometimes longer) with time at the end to travel around the country.

it does prevent you from staying longer - employed - but if you are just interested in being in Australia for a period of time, of gaining some work experience and then leaving, there are mechanisms for this.

assuming you are following this official process, it will not be difficult for offices to employ you - assuming you have the skill set they are looking for.

Mar 23, 10 9:56 am  · 
 · 
LOOP!

Australia does have a list on their immigration site saying which countries have the temp. work visa deal. I have a friend there right now that went down with the temp visa (which only allows work at one place for 6 months) and is going through the process of having his company sponser him to work longer.