Archinect
anchor

How many of you have engineering backgrounds?

engr10

Hi, longtime lurker, first time poster.

I'm a current engineering student thinking of going to an M.Arch program upon graduation- has anyone else out there made the same transition?

I'm curious if anyone out there who has both engineering and architecture backgrounds is facing the same unemployment/ low salary/ job satisfaction problems that are being discussed a lot here.

I'll be eligible to take the PE exam in 4 years, and was thinking that a healthcare design firm would value a dual licensed engineer/ architect. Am I wildly off on this?

Thanks!

Mar 11, 10 9:45 am
el jeffe

i started undergrad in mechanical engineering and then switched to architecture. at the very least, it made structures courses and technical portions of the ARE a snap.

i think most firms would have a hard time utilizing someone with both a PE and RA. you'd most likely get shoehorned into a specialty.

otoh, having both would be fantastic if you had your own firm.

Mar 11, 10 11:13 am  · 
 · 
WinstonSmith

One major problem you might encounter once you get out of school is the "me architect. you engineer. my dad beat up your dad." mentality that exists as far as architect ego defense goes.

Petty? of course but its reality.

I've found that architects are generally an insecure lot and are about as territorial as a common junkyard dog who rabidly patrols his territory and pisses on any and all scraps to claim them. Esp. when it comes to a perceived threat of a P.E. "invading" their turf.

Watch out for marginalization due to architect triggered ego defense mechanisms. They are definitely set on a "hair-trigger" sensitivity too.

Mar 11, 10 12:50 pm  · 
 · 
engr10

Thanks for the responses so far guys. I suppose part of me was motivated by architects like calatrava who dabbled on both sides of the fence.