Archinect
anchor

Overwork and Accidents

latx

Archinect,

I've read many posts on your forum but none presents a situation quite like mine, with the exception of the interesting read-through 'Overworked. Is there legal action that can be taken?' - an interesting and relatively helpful read-through.

I've been pretty interested in labor laws knowing my rights since last Tuesday when, tired, I was walking home from my office and was hit by a car. By some miracle I am not badly injured.

I work at a profile office in a field allied with architecture (though my degree is architecture) in a large west-coast city. My team is at the start of a huge project and we are understaffed, overworked, and generally hating the hours. I love working with almost everyone at the office and most projects, but this schedule is out of control and I, along with all other team members, have voiced this to our supervisor.

I believe that good design does not have to be produced in a way that threatens the health of the designers. I am more than happy to work on a hard deadline when I feel the work is worthwhile. I am a few years out of school, nowhere near licensed, I have a strong voice in my office, salaried without overtime like most of us, and I believe our workload is due to bad management and overproduction rather than necessity. I will tell them this, but I am looking for facts/examples/a few good ideas to back me up.

I know that the studio culture initiative in architecture schools began after a student died while driving after lack of sleep. Has anyone heard of anything similar for professional practice?

Is there a place I can go to online that could decipher labor laws?

A friend who works HR at an architecture firm mentioned that the city/state/or federal government has recently been targeting architecture offices because of their work practices. Has anyone experienced this?

Thanks for your input.

Jan 30, 10 10:19 pm
Ms Beary