Archinect
anchor

Learning Revit/BIM in School

jyount10
I know there are a number of students on here, and I was wondering to what extent schools are teaching Revit. I've been using Revit for around 9 years now, and it has made some significant advances.

Are the schools teaching:
-Revit in general?
-Schedule parameters?
-Clash Detection?
-Mass Modeling
-Mass Curtainwall (99% chance anyone who says that Revit limits your design capability is not familiar with the latest Mass Tools)

Many firms are still operating in a Sketchup first, Revit 2nd; or a combination of MAX/VIZ/Rhino for more complex portions of the building, while using Revit for the more simple modeling.

A principal at one of my old firms once said: "When schools start teaching Revit, that's when we switch."

Mar 9, 14 5:18 am
C. Watts
My undergrad school offered an optional revit class. I didn't take it though. From what I have heard, most schools do not teach it and it is the students responsibility to learn programs.
Mar 9, 14 10:31 am  · 
 · 
mszczere
Speaking as a second year undergrad, we've been doing a significant amount more in Rhino than in Revit, although we will be spending the next half of the semester learning the basics of modeling in Revit. I don't believe we will be learning any clash detection software.
Mar 9, 14 3:52 pm  · 
 · 
Thecyclist
I don't think most schools teach Revit. There maybe an extra class after hours that they might offer, but the idea of 'teaching' Revit seems a little futile to me. The best way to learn software is by yourself. When there's something you don't know, Google or YouTube is a heck of a resource... If only some of my colleagues figured this out.
Mar 9, 14 8:08 pm  · 
 · 
empea