Archinect
anchor

PA schools

arch10

Looking to undergrad school in PA for architecture. Hard to determine which is best - Philadelphia Univ., Temple, Penn State, U. of Maryland. Can anyone provide some key benefits of any of these to take into consideration?

Jan 1, 10 9:42 am

the university of pennsylvania also has an undergraduate program in architecture

so does drexel

i know absolutely nothing about any of the undergraduate programs, so take this with a grain of salt, but my completely unfounded gut feeling rankings of these schools would be (full disclosure: i'm a phd student at upenn):
upenn
maryland
pennstate
temple
drexel
phila u

also, you need to make sure that you understand the difference between which degrees the schools offer... most importantly, if any of them offer a b.arch. (which usually take 5 years), that is a professional degree which allows you to become a licensed professional... any other degree will not be professionally accredited and you will have to go on to get an m.arch.

Jan 1, 10 10:01 am  · 
 · 
Corbuuuu

I have juried at all these schools (but Maryland) and taught at a few.

Penn Undergrad is just an awful program!!!! Mediocre faculty and work.

Temple, Drexel, and Philly U (the worst) are weak programs run by mediocre leadership. Faculty is spotty.

PU is just a Degree Mill. Stay clear.

Penn State is the best of the bad. Though it is also moving in a downward direction.

Jan 1, 10 11:19 am  · 
 · 
treekiller