Archinect
anchor

How to get a bump in pay?

majpdx23

So I've been working my first architectural job for a little over 9 months now. I work at a small firm, 4 people including myself. We have been busy for several months solid and have a number of projects in the work. I am currently making $14 / hour. My problem is that I have other friends who are making $16-18 / hour. I have a performance review coming up where I am expecting to get a $1 bump in pay (that's what my co-worker got). I really enjoy where I work and the experiences that I am exposed to. Working at a small firm has given me a ton of hands on experience that I wouldn't have gotten anywhere else. The only problem is the pay... How can I try and ask for a higher, more market equivalent pay without irritating my boss? I'm currently a full time employee with a masters degree and work roughly 43ish hours a week. I get overtime pay and 1 weeks vacation. Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

Feb 24, 14 3:27 pm
MyDream

I have no advise to give you but you are doing better than me. I'm a drafter and been working for about seven months and your pay is a lot higher than mine and my learning has been minimal, anyways good luck on your raise.

Feb 24, 14 3:48 pm  · 
 · 
jarvvy

I would ask for more than the $1/hour raise. Just because your coworker got that raise doesn't mean you can't get more....might be your co-workers fault for not asking for more. How often do you have performance reviews?...once a year? If you don't get any other benefits you could use that as leverage to get more pay.

Feb 24, 14 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Majpdx23, it depends on a few things such as location, your age/level of education/experience, types of projects and your role in those projects.

Considering the info you list above, you are receiving a somewhere around $32k/year which in North America (and I assume Europe as well) is no where near what you "should" get.