Archinect
anchor

Yet another Mac vs. PC thread

Horn.MP

Allow me to set the mood:
I've been using a Dell Inspiron 9300 for just under four years and it's served valiantly, but it's becoming rapidly apparent that its days are numbered. I'm doing what I can to squeeze the last bit of performance out of it but at best I think I could go another six months before I start getting crippling failures and irrevocable data loss (knock on wood). I'm considering making the jump to Mac but I'm still on the fence.

My main concerns are with the software availability/compatibility. I use Rhino and MasterCam almost exclusively and even though I know McNeel is cooking up a Mac release I haven't heard what degree of compatibility it will have with existing plug-ins (Grasshopper being my primary concern) or if the same scripting capabilities will be available. Regardless, it looks like I would still need Windows to run MasterCam. I've heard good things about running parallels and keeping Windows segregated from the internet so that it can't bog down with system updates but I'm still wary of the efficiency of running two operating systems.

The other obvious issue is the price- is it really worth it in the long run to shell out for Mac prices?

I know the Mac vs. Windows debate is at least as contentious as health care but can someone give me some advice that isn't built on ideology? So far everyone I've talked to has been a bit, well, extremist in their views.

(sub-thread)
Any advice on the best way to tune up an antediluvian Dell would also be welcome with open arms, a ticker-tape parade, and, quite possibly, sexual favors.

Oct 18, 09 7:32 pm
khmay

run bootcamp. i would buy used before a cheap dell.

Oct 18, 09 9:06 pm  · 
 · 
LML